little man’s snack day at school

When I picked up the butterscoth chips at the grocery sunday I did not have a plan for them. I remember asking little man what he wanted to take for snack day today and the first time he replied Fruit Snacks, not one iota in healthy food there. But I was none the less planning on picking up fruit snacks and cheese sticks during my break at work. However, I never had a chance to fit in a break before 10PM, thought I could stop at super walmart on my way home and then forgot about it.

So this morning from my sleep stupor, hubby got kids ready for school, I asked again what little man wanted and he replied cookies. I have made m & m bar cookies for him in the past. However, I have no m&m’s, looked at the back of the chips I bought and saw this recipe:

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies
Ingredients:
3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 cups quick-cooking or regular rolled oats, uncooked
1-3/4 cups (11-oz. pkg.) HERSHEY’S Butterscotch Chips
Directions:
1. Heat oven to 375°F.

2. Beat butter, granulated sugar and brown sugar in large bowl until well blended. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.

3. Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; gradually add to butter mixture, beating until well blended. Stir in oats and butterscotch chips; mix well. Drop by heaping teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.

4. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until golden brown. Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely. About 4 dozen cookies.

(copied from Hersheyskitchen.com)

My oven must be off because I had to bake them for about 12 min.

The batter tasted delicious also.

Here they are:

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies

Off to deliver them before snack time, will pick up some reg. milk and chocolate mild to go with. Hope the kiddos like them, I will not tell little man they have oatmeal becuase anything that sounds healthy he snubs without even trying it.

Happy Wednesday to you!

Beth

5 thoughts on “little man’s snack day at school

  1. those do sound good. I’m making “smart cookies” with my daughter’s preschool class this Friday. They are basically oatmeal cookies, but I’m going to give the kids the option of adding sun flower seeds, raisins, craisins and wheat germ. Maybe I should bring in some butterscotch chips or cinnamon chips, if I can find them, too.

  2. your smart cookies sound good. I asked my son how everyone liked them, he said everyone loved them except him, because they had oat meals in them… grrr, I was hoping he would just eat them but some little buddy let the cat out of the bag. thanks for stopping by.

  3. Those cookies look soooo soooo good. Kids are so cute….his response made me smile… Remembering
    when my kids were little. (my youngest is now 29) Oh how time flies.

Leave a Reply

