Devil’s Lake

So anyway, as we continued up the road from our Merrimac Ferry crossing we headed over to Devil’s Lake State Park. It was a first for all of us. Earlier in the day I thought we would go hiking but by the time we got there we only had about an hour before everyone would be so cranky if they did not eat time so we bought our $ 5.00 one hour parking pass and headed off …to the lake.

(Pass prices are $ 5.00 parking for an hour, $ 7.00 all day parking or $ 25.00 all season pass – next year we will get the all season pass)

Now being the mom I am and knowing that my fish, I mean kids, love the water as much as fish do; I brought their swimming suits and a change of clothing. However, with it being very late in the day and knowing that the water was probably cold I did not think the kids would want to get super wet after walking a bit of a distance to the lake. I was wrong and here are the pics to prove it.

Going in

Going in

"Do your dare me" "It's a bit chilly"
Beautiful Countryside

Beautiful Countryside

All the way in

All the way in

"I got all wet"
Going as far as they can

Going as far as they can

The boy made it all the way out to the bouy marker

The boy made it all the way out to the bouy marker

Hubby and I self portrait

Hubby and I self portrait

By the time we left the lake everyone was starving, we headed on up the road to Baraboo and followed the signs to the Log Cabin Family Resturant. Decor was very Northwoods, carved wooden bears and other wildlife all over but the food was outstanding! A great dinner and then back home with two happy kiddos sleeping soundly.

family

Leave a Reply

