Monday – Thrift day

Love that Rhoda at Southern Hospitality is back to having Thrifty parties on Monday… I really enjoyed participating last year and seeing all the wonderful buys actually got me to try some thrift stores….I liken GW and other stores like that to a year long garage sale plus the money we do spend goes to support some pretty good charities.

I have wanted a bookcase dollhouse for my daughter ever since the first time I spied them in the pottery barn catalog…just did not want to spend the money PB wanted for them. So I had planned on buying one this past year from Target, or one similiar to it.

Well, last summer I had an hour before heading to work to stop by a neighborhood garage sale and even though it was pretty late in the morning it was still there! I could not believe it was not sold yet and the cost $ 10.00. Now it is not a PB one but well built home made … it is a very heavy piece of furniture…this thing was built not to tip over, that is for sure.

It has taken me over a couple of months to finish the embellishments but it is finally done and ready for the residents to move in. Come with me through on a walk through…

Bedroom

Take note of the chandelier with a real metal chain (used a old necklace for this)

Bathroom

Living Room

Other side of Living Room showing the big screen tv

Kitchen/Dining Area

Close up of kitchen/entry area

Garage - complete with car and ski doo

The Stable

Resident Barn Cat

After I was finished the hubby laughed and said I spent more on the embellishments than I did on the bookshelf itself That is probably true (the wood floor in the living room did cost more than the whole shelving unit) but most of it is clearanced scrapbook paper.

I am sure I will be adding more decoration in the future but right now Miki enjoys playing with her Babies with it.

7 thoughts on “Monday – Thrift day

  1. That is precious!! I know your daughter will cherish it for years to come. 🙂 My mom still has the Barbie house that my sis and I played with. Our grandfather made it for our aunt, and she gave it to us. Now my girls play with it! 🙂 I love the neat wallpaper treatments. 🙂 I’m visiting from Rhoda’s Thrifty Treasures party. I hope you’ll stop by my blog. 🙂

  2. I would be thrilled to find a doll house like that for my g’daughter. What a treasure!

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. Please come back and visit again soon.

  3. Pingback: Thirty Party Monday « So Anyway Today . . .

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review by Wordpress « So Anyway Today . . .

Leave a Reply

